Jack Cusumano


Adventures in Webvertising
August 7, 2009, 8:33 pm
Filed under: job tips

webvertising

As some of you know, I recently headed to the west coast in search of getting my start in the animation industry. I’ve spent most of my time since earning my animation degree flirting with graphic design and motion graphics, allowing me to pick up some unique skills, but at the end of the day I realized I still just wanted to draw cartoons for a living.

It’s a bit of a challenge gaining visibility, earning a reputation and getting your feet on the ground in the industry, however, which is leading me to try out some creative techniques in my career quest. The latest idea? Placing banner ads on my favorite webcomic site in order to direct viewers to my work who may not otherwise find it. Kinda silly, on one hand – what are the odds of someone from the industry both noticing it and deciding to contact me based on what they see? But so far it’s actually been successful in raising traffic to both my portfolio website and this blog.

I’ll leave it up for a couple days, but so far this experiment hasn’t been a total bust. I’ve got more traffic!

-Jack Cusumano

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Good ideas. (I love the blog by the way). One of the best things you can do for traffic and exposure is to hop on Twitter. Make a name, create a background and start following anyone you can, then start putting your twitter name on directories, and you’ll start getting traffic pretty quickly!

Comment by Chaz

I’ll have to try it out. Haven’t done it yet because the one twitter account I have is just used for personal, non-professional tweeting.

Comment by jackiecous

I have a question about your portfolio website. Did you create it yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you? Right now I just have a deviant art portfolio which just looks super lame, but I don’t really know anything about web design, nor do I have money to pay someone (I’m just assuming it’s expensive).

How did you get yours up and running and if it cost you, do you think it’s worth it to make it flashy?

By the way it’s at http://zakiyamason.daportfolio.com/ if you want to view it.

Comment by zeezeecakes

I actually built it myself (although the gallery component is a free gallery plugin called “simpleviewer”). Just send me an e-mail (my address is on my website) and I can tell you a little more about it! I checked out your portfolio, too: good stuff!

Comment by jackiecous




Leave a Reply

