Jack Cusumano


RAD RAZ Returns?
August 9, 2009, 11:10 pm
Filed under: Comics | Tags: , , , , , , ,

razburger

I haven’t been drawing RAD RAZ comics lately, mainly because I took time off from drawing regular comics to put together pitches for some animated shows and focus on networking and landing a job at an animation studio. However, a bunch of great ideas for RAZ comics just hit me the other day, and I’ve decided I need to get them out while they’re hot. I haven’t decided where to use them, but there’s time for that later.

The more immediate question was how to style them. Over the years the style of my RAD RAZ comics has evolved a bit, from the straightforward simplicity of the first strips to the intricate, faux newsprint of my Dumm guest strips, to the smooth, shaded animation look of the one-off special strip, “Nice Try.” The only thing that has remained a constant throughout is my insistance on using eye-melting neon color schemes for RAZ, which I think is an essential part of the property’s identity. Well, my latest experiment is to take that color scheme as far as possible, incorporating some details reminiscent of a misaligned CMYK printer or blue/red 3D imagery. Above is a little taste of what I’ve come up with so far.

-Jack Cusumano

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

i think i like this look the best. go with it, or else

Comment by christianbeforechruch




Leave a Reply

